My Christian Blog
Interesting Christian stuff: Videos,Bible Verses,Early Christian Writings,Christian Singles Resources,articles and etc

The Lineage of Christ

Matthew 1
1The book of the generation of Jesus Christ, the son of David, the son of Abraham.

2Abraham begat Isaac; and Isaac begat Jacob; and Jacob begat Judas and his brethren;

3And Judas begat Phares and Zara of Thamar; and Phares begat Esrom; and Esrom begat Aram;

4And Aram begat Aminadab; and Aminadab begat Naasson; and Naasson begat Salmon;

5And Salmon begat Booz of Rachab; and Booz begat Obed of Ruth; and Obed begat Jesse;

6And Jesse begat David the king; and David the king begat Solomon of her that had been the wife of Urias;

7And Solomon begat Roboam; and Roboam begat Abia; and Abia begat Asa;

8And Asa begat Josaphat; and Josaphat begat Joram; and Joram begat Ozias;

9And Ozias begat Joatham; and Joatham begat Achaz; and Achaz begat Ezekias;

10And Ezekias begat Manasses; and Manasses begat Amon; and Amon begat Josias;

11And Josias begat Jechonias and his brethren, about the time they were carried away to Babylon:

12And after they were brought to Babylon, Jechonias begat Salathiel; and Salathiel begat Zorobabel;

13And Zorobabel begat Abiud; and Abiud begat Eliakim; and Eliakim begat Azor;

14And Azor begat Sadoc; and Sadoc begat Achim; and Achim begat Eliud;

15And Eliud begat Eleazar; and Eleazar begat Matthan; and Matthan begat Jacob;

16And Jacob begat Joseph the husband of Mary, of whom was born Jesus, who is called Christ.

17So all the generations from Abraham to David are fourteen generations; and from David until the carrying away into Babylon are fourteen generations; and from the carrying away into Babylon unto Christ are fourteen generations.

I have a question for anybody reading this post.Could anybody here trace their lineage back to forty-two generations?What is the furtherist that your could trace your lineage back too?I could probably trace my lineage back to the 1700’s at best.

5 Responses to “The Lineage of Christ”

  1. It’s actually a lot further than that, considering the biblical genealogies are all telescoped. I always wondered why Matthew and Luke’s genealogies diverged so much, considering they both claim to trace Christ’s lineage through Joseph, and in the process of investigating I learned a lot about how genealogies were recorded in the ancient Near East: http://theo-geek.blogspot.com/2008/10/understanding-genealogies-in-matthew.html

  2. That is a good one.I’ve never looked at it that way before.If I am not mistaken,from the time of Adam till the time of Christ is 4000 years.I’ve seen biblical chronological tables from the time of Adam till the time of Christ.I may be wrong.I will have to do a thorough study on the subject more.

  3. If you dig up anything on that (how dogmatic we are about 4000 yrs. Adam => Christ), let me know. I’m interested in the subject because it is the main argument Young Earth Creationists use to defend the premise that the earth is only 6,000 years old. (I lean more Old Earth Creationist myself). I assumed the genealogy, like the other ones listed in the Bible, is telescoped – or representational of some of the more well-known family heads. According to what I’ve read, that was how lineages were recorded in ancient, clan-based societies.

    Not one of those questions that keeps me up at night, but I have a really hard time with the earth only being 6,000 years old. Hmm…

    Well, at least I found the answer (sort of) as to why Matthew and Luke listed a different number of generations from the time period from Babylonian exile to Christ’s birth (one lists 14; the other 21). Interesting stuff.

  4. I think alot of people go off some of the Early Church father’s like St Barnabas,St Ireneaus and others who believed that Christ Would come back after the 6000 years are complete.

  5. My genealogy direct-line on my father’s side is back to the mid 1400s.

    As for the 6000 year age of the earth, most people, like me, who are young earth creationists, go strictly by the biblical genealogies, and those in Genesis ARE NOT telescoped.

    I think Answers in Genesis ministry has the best answers in that area for those who are interested.


Leave a Reply

